Town of Portville 2024 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING **January 9th, 2024**

PRESENT: Tim Emley, Supervisor

Stuart Frost, Deputy Supervisor/Council Person - Absent David Suain, Council Person Thomas Rowe, Council Person Melinda Deyoe, Council Person Yvonne Rogers, Town Clerk

PLEDGE TO FLAG: 6:02pm

*All motions in this meeting are made by Tim Emley, Supervisor, unless otherwise noted.

APPOINTMENTS & COMPENSATION:

*I would like to make the motion to appoint (VACANT) as planning board secretary with a term expiring December 31, 2024, with an hourly of \$ per hr, not to exceed 10 hours per month.

Second: Thomas Rowe **AIF**

- * I would like to make it known that Paul Slawiak will take the position as Chair of the Board of Assessment Review with a term expiring December 31st, 2024.
- *I would like to make it known that Stuart Foster will take the position of Deputy Chair of the Board of Assessment Review with a term expiring December 31st, 2024.
- *I would like to make the motion that the annual compensation of the Town Supervisor will remain \$12,000.00 and it be paid out equally in 12 monthly payments.

Second: David Suain AIF

*I would like to reappoint Mr.Stuart Frost as my Deputy Supervisor with his annual compensation will remain at \$3,000.00 and it be paid out equally in 12 monthly payments.

Second: Melinda Devoe **AIF**

*I would like to make the motion that the annual compensation of the position of councilperson will remain at \$1,800.00 and it be paid monthly in 12 equal payments.

Second: Thomas Rowe **AIF**

*I would like to make the motion that the annual compensation of the Highway Superintendent, Mr. Todd Shaw will be \$54,000.00 and that it be paid out bi-weekly.

Second: Melinda Devoe **AIF**

*I would like to make the motion that the hourly rate of pay for Highway Employees, Brian Freaney, \$22.20 per hour, David Gleason \$22.20 per hour and Mark Baker \$21.70 per hour and be paid out biweekly

Second: David Suain **AIF**

*I would like to make the motion that the annual compensation of the Town Justice, Mrs. Judy McClain will be \$11,016.00 and it be paid monthly in 12 equal payments.

Second: Melinda Deyoe

AIF

* I would like to make the motion that the business mileage reimbursement for approved town business be set at 67 cents per mile. (Catt. Co. Rate)

Second: Melinda Deyoe

AIF

*I would like to make the motion to appoint Mrs. Krenda Hale as our Bookkeeper with a term expiring December 31, 2024 with annual compensation of \$19,500.00 paid in 12 equal payments, and with a Budget Officer pay of \$30.00/hr.

Second: David Suain

- * I would like to make the motion to appoint Ms. Denise Barber as our Dog Control Officer with a term expiring December 31, 2024 with annual compensation of \$5,700.00 paid in 12 equal payments. Second: Melinda Deyoe
- * I would like to make the motion to appoint Mr. John Krist as Building Inspector/Code Enforcement Officer and all that entails expiring December 31, 2024 with annual compensation of \$10,000.00 paid in 12 equal payments.

Second:

David Suain

AIF

* I would like to make the motion to appoint Michael Burke to represent the Town as Town Attorney with a term expiring December 31, 2024 at a rate of pay of \$150.00 per hour. His Legal Assistant's rate of pay will be at \$90.00/hr.

Second: Melinda Deyoe

AIF

*I would like to make the motion to appoint Ms. Susan Talbott to the position of Court Clerk with a term expiring December 31, 2024 at a rate of pay of \$16.50 per hour, paid bi-weekly with weekly hours not to exceed 24.

Second: David Suain

AIF

*I would like to make the motion to appoint Mrs. Yvonne Rogers as Town Clerk/Registrar/Tax Collector expiring December 31, 2024 at a rate of pay of \$17.02 per hour to be paid Bi-weekly. Second: David Suain **AIF**

*I would like to make the motion to appoint Mrs. Lora Johnson as Deputy Town Clerk/Registrar/Tax Collector expiring December 31, 2024 at a rate of pay of \$15.00 per hour to be paid Monthly Second: David Suain **AIF**

*I would like to make the motion to appoint Michael Burke as our Town Prosecuting Attorney thru December 31st 2024, at the rate of \$100.00/hr.

Second: Melinda Deyoe

AIF

*I would like to make the motion to appoint (VACANT) as the Chairman of the Planning Board, with the term ending December 31, 2024.

Second: David Suain

AIF

*I would like to make the motion to appoint <u>Cynthia Keeley</u> as the Historian, term ending December 31, 2024, with no compensation, and that the \$250.00 be given to the Portville Historical Society.

Second: Thomas Rowe AIF

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS:

*I would like to make the motion that our Financial Institutions be identified and remain as Community Bank and Five Star Bank.

Second: Melinda Deyoe AIF

MEETING SCHEDULE:

*I would like to make the motion that the Town Board meet monthly on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 pm at the Town Hall location.

Second: Thomas Rowe AIF

*I would like to make the motion that our way of public communication and official newspaper be through the Olean Times Herald.

Second: David Suain AIF

OATH OF OFFICE:

By law, elected and appointed officials must take and sign the oath of office within 30 days of the beginning of his or her term of office. Failing to do so vacates the position and makes it available to the town board for appointment. Once we have adjourned, those folks who wish to take the oath of office tonight should come up and make it known.

MOTION TO ADJOURN: (Time): 6:20

Motion: Tim Emley Second: Thomas Rowe AIF